Winners of 9th International Arbaeen Award Announced

15:57 - January 27, 2024
News ID: 3486977
IQNA – The 9th edition of the Arbaeen International Award, which celebrates artworks inspired by the March of Arbaeen, announced its winners on Saturday in a ceremony held in Tehran.

Winners of 9th International Arbaeen Award Announced


The event was attended by high-ranking officials, including Mohammad Mahdi Esmaeili, the Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance.

The award, organized by the Islamic Culture and Relations Organization (ICRO), received 12,102 submissions from 38 countries in six categories: photography, films, travelogues, books, social media, and poetry.

The winners of each category are as follows:

- Photography: Hossein Hajileri from Iran (first place), Majid Hojjati from Iran and Azharhamid al-Asadi from Iraq (joint second place), Tahir Ali Ragvi from Pakistan (third place), Mostafa Rajaei from Afghanistan and Seyed Aziz from Uzbekistan (recognition).

- Films: Mohammad Hassan Anoushe from Iran (first place), Hossein Sahib from Iraq - Al-Kafeel TV channel (joint second place), Ali Shahabnejad from Iran and Sheikh Abdullah Makuinija from Zimbabwe (joint third place), Sajjad Abdullah from Iraq and Mehdi Hafez from Iraq (recognition).

Read More:

- Travelogues: Mahdieh Mozaffari from Iran (first place), Mohammad Taqi Mehrabi from Iran and Mohammad Ali Abu Talebi from India (joint second place), Kalupana Pyarathanathru from Sri Lanka (third place), Betul Aktul from Turkey (recognition).

- Social media: Edin Bešavić from Bosnia (first place), Narjes Daryaei from Iran (second place), Mohammadreza Pishgahi from Iran (third place), Abdul Motahar Mohammad-khani and Mohammad Saebi from Iran (recognition).

- Books: No first place, Abbasali Parchizadeh from Iran (second place), Gholamreza Abazari from Iran (third place), Majidpour Wali from Iran and Mojtaba Rahmandoost from Iran (recognition).

- Poetry: Mustafa Mohsen Allawati from Oman (first place), Mehdi Jahandar from Iran (second place), Zahra Boshra Mohavad from Iran (third place), Samer al-Khatib Syria and Mohammad Mehdi Khanmohammadi from Iran (recognition).


The Arbaeen International Award was first launched in 2014 to reflect the manifestations of the Arbaeen march, which is one of the largest gatherings in the world.

Arbaeen marks the 40th day after Ashura, the martyrdom anniversary of Imam Hussein (AS), the third Shia Imam and the grandson of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

Every year, millions of Shia Muslims walk to the holy city of Karbala in Iraq, where the shrine of Imam Hussein (AS) is located, to pay tribute to his sacrifice and legacy.

The majority of the pilgrims come from Iraq and Iran, but many others join from different countries and regions.