Surahs of Quran/42

Surah Ash-Shura; Importance of Consultation

9:56 - November 26, 2022
News ID: 3481401
TEHRAN (IQNA) – There have been many characteristics mentioned for believers, each having its own importance. One of them is consultation with others, which seems to have special significance because one Surah of the Holy Quran has been named after it.

Surah Ash-Shura


The 42nd chapter of the Quran is named Ash-Shura. It is in the 25th Juz and has 53 verses. Ash-Shura is Makki and the 62nd Surah revealed to the Holy Prophet (PBUH).

The name of the Surah comes from the word Shura (consultation) mentioned in verse 38 as one of the characteristics of believers: “… those who answer their Lord, establish the prayers, and their affairs are by consultation; who spend of that which We have given them.”

The central theme of Surah Ash-Shura is the issue of revelation. It also discusses monotheism, other characteristics of believers as well as those of disbelievers and how the conditions of each group will be on the Resurrection Day.  

Tawbah (repentance), monotheism, resurrection, urging the Holy Prophet (PBUH) to remain steadfast in promoting the religion, inviting people to God, unity of divine faiths, preventing discord among people, forgiving others’ mistakes, curbing one’s anger, and urging consultation in social and governmental affairs are among other subjects of this chapter.

Overall, the themes of Surah Ash-Shura can be divided into four parts:

The first part, which is the main one, discusses revelation and God’s relation with prophets. The Surah begins and ends with this theme, and also covers related subjects such as the prophethood of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), the Holy Quran and the beginning of prophetic mission since the time of Noah (AS).

The second part refers to issues like the reasons for monotheism and the signs of God in the world.

The third part features resurrection and the fate of disbelievers on the Day of Judgment.

An finally, the fourth part is about ethical and moral issues, urging Tawbah, forgiveness, patience, steadfastness, and curbing one’s anger, and warning against conceit, stubbornness, and too much loving worldly things.




Related News
* Comment: